Southeast Iowa Agricultural Research Association Annual Meeting Invite

February 26, 2024 9:28 PM
Blog Post

You are invited to the Southeast Iowa Agricultural Research Association's annual meeting, on Thursday, March 7, at the Southeast Research and Demonstration Farm, located at 3115 Louisa-Washington Rd, Crawfordsville.

The association, in partnership with Iowa State University, oversees the ISU Southeast Research and Demonstration Farm.

The annual meeting will feature:

  • "Tips to acheiving high yielding soybeans"Mark Licht, associate professor and extension cropping systems specialist with Iowa State University Extension and Outreach
  • "ISU Research Farm Update", Tim Goode, Iowa State research farms manger; and Kendall Lamkey, associate dean for facilities and operations for Iowa State‚Äôs Research Farms
  • "Southeast Research and Demonstration Farm and Muscatine Island Research Farm Update: A review of 2023 activities and plans for 2024", Cody Schneider, farm superintendent
  • "Summary of regional studies in corn on selected commerical asymbiotic N-fixing organisms and suggestions for farmers and companies developing similiar products", Dave Franzen, professor and extension soil fertility specialist with North Dakota State University (*joining via ZOOM) 
  • "Turning the corner on Soybean Cyst Nematode", Greg Tylka, Morrill professor and extension nematologist at Iowa State 

Registration and refreshments will begin at 9:30 a.m. and the meeting will start at 10 a.m. and will conclude at 2:30 p.m. Following the conclusion of the meeting, the Southeast Iowa Agricultural Research Association board of directors will meet.

Lunch will be served as part of the meeting and is free to association members and is $10 for non-association members.

To become a member or renew your membership with the association, the cost is $25 for five years. Checks can be made out to SEIARA and sent to the ISU Extension and Outreach Johnson County Office (33109 Old Hwy 218 S., Iowa City, IA 52246) or can be paid at the meeting.

Those who plan to attend are encouraged to pre-register by March 1 at or by calling the Johnson County office at 319-337-2145. Registration is not required but helps with a headcount for lunch.

A special thanks to Hills Bank and Trust for helping to support this meeting. Certified Crop Advisors can earn Continuing Education Units (CEUs) for attending this meeting.

For more information, contact Ryan Drollette at or 319-337-2145, Clarabell Probasco at or 641-664-2730, Virgil Schmitt at or 563-263-5701, or Rebecca Vittetoe at or 319-653-4811.


Rebecca Vittetoe Field Agronomist in EC Iowa

Rebecca Vittetoe is an extension field agronomist in east central Iowa. Educational programs are available for farmers, agribusiness, pesticide applicators, and certified crop advisors.

Areas of expertise include agronomy, field crop production and management of corn, soybeans, and...

Virgil Schmitt Field Agronomist in SE Iowa

Virgil Schmitt has been in his current position since 1992, although counties he's covered have changed over time.

He's worked as an extension 4-H and youth leader in Butler and Grundy Counties and as an extension agriculturist in Linn County, Iowa. He taught high school agricultural ed...