Upcoming Events

Page

January 22-March 13: Soil Testing Interpretations and Recommendations: Maximizing Return on Investment
The cost of managing soil fertility in Iowa continues to change, with increased fertilizer input costs and a rising demand for nutrients from higher-yielding crops. To help producers maximize profits, Iowa State University Extension and Outreach is hosting 17 workshops.

February 25-26: Soil Fertility and Nutrient Management Short Course
An in-depth two-day course focused on understanding the principles of soils, soil fertility, and nutrient management for Iowa crop production.

March 7: Field Crop Scout School
The Iowa State University Extension and Outreach Field Crop Scout School prepares individuals with little or no previous crop scouting experience, providing a foundation of basic skills for crop scouting corn and soybean in the Midwest.

April 8-9: Iowa Water Conference
This conference will focus on our evolving relationship with water at a personal and societal scale, as well as what the future may hold if we continue our current trajectory. Through scientific discovery, diverse change agents, and foresight on future challenges, we will move into an equitable and verdurous world of the future.​​​​​​​

August 25-27: Iowa Drainage School
To train stakeholders in sub-surface drainage concepts, planning and laying out drainage systems including surveying a profile, laying out the system, calculating tile line sizes and spacing using actual field data, making connections, and setting up drainage control structures, NRCS program requirements, and fixing common drainage system issues.​​​​​​​


Agronomy in the Field For Women

The goals of this series are to strengthen agronomic skills for women that allow for better decision-making, provide a better understanding of inputs for crop production, see and understand different conservation practices and increase confidence in communication with their spouse, farming partner, ag retailer or tenant. Join the Agronomy in the Field Facebook group for information updates throughout the year. You can also contact us at agronomyinthefield@iastate.edu

The 2019/2020 winter Agronomy in the Field Sessions will be offered by a teleconferencing system called ZOOM. Each session starts at 6 p.m. There is no charge for this series of programs. To register and gain access to this series, please send an email to agronomyinthefield@iastate.edu. In addition, some County Extension Offices are also hosting this series.  The list of counties and the point of contact is listed below. 

February 18, 2020: Growing season weather outlooks and weather resources
March 17, 2020: Planning for a successful implementation of a herbicide program
April 7, 2020: Early Season Scouting Tips and Tricks

Counties hosting winter sessions:

County

Contact Person 

Email

Phone

Buchanan

Roxanne Fuller

rrfuller@iastate.edu

319-334-7161

Butler, Floyd and Bremer

Lesley Milius 

lmehmen@iastate.edu

641-228-1453

Cedar

Greta Bierman

gbierman@iastate.edu

563-886-6157

Cherokee

Mary Tuttle 

mtuttle@iastate.edu

712-225-6196

Chickasaw

Valerie Horner

vhorner@iastate.edu

641-394-2174

Crawford

Tina Gress

tgress@iastate.edu

712-263-4697

Delaware

Jade Hargrafen

jadeh@iastate.edu

563-927-4201

East Pottawattamie

Jill Kadel

jkadel@iastate.edu

712-482-6449

Fayette

Deb Kahler

dkahler@iastate.edu

563-425-3331

Grundy

Shari Sell Bakker

sellbakk@iastate.edu

319-824-6979

Guthrie

Krista Downing

kristad@iastate.edu

641-747-2276

Hancock

Taylor Nelson 

nelsont@iastate.edu

641-923-2856

Howard

Susan Barnes

skbarnes@iastate.edu

563-547-3001

Jackson 

Amber Matthiesen

amber@iastate.edu

563-625-4923

Lee

Whitney Weisinger

weisinge@iastate.edu

319-835-5116

Madison

Nicole Navin

nnavin@iastate.edu

515-462-1001

Mahaska

Suzette Striegel

striegel@iastate.edu

641-673-5841

Mitchell

Darla Olson

daolson@iastate.edu

641-732-5574

Page

Kimberly Wellauer Cavalier

wellauer@iastate.edu

712-542-5171

Ringgold

Dawn Dugan

dawnd@iastate.edu

641-464-3333

Story

Michaela Van De Berg

mvandb@iastate.edu

515-382-6551

Washington

Rebecca Vittetoe

rka8@iastate.edu

319-653-4811

Category: